non-halal meat

More
4 years 7 months ago #28 by Imam Rassi Society
Reposted
Salam, what is the zaydiyaa view of eating non halal meat?
Salaams!

Thank you for your question!

According to our imams, it is prohibited to eat non-halal meat.

Regarding what is considered halal meat, the imams differ. It is related in the Majmu of Imam Zayd (as) that he permitted the meat of Jews and Christians as long as they mentioned the Name of Allah when they killed it. Of course, most People of the Book don't do that today.

It is also related in Amaali of Imam Ahmed bin Isa (as) and Al-Jaami al-Kaafi from Imam Qaasim ar-Rassi (as) that Imam Zayd (as) did not permit the eating of the meat from the People of the Book. Rather, he only permitted the eating of their non-meat foods. This view of Imam Zayd (as) is further substantiated in the book Al-Jaami al-Kaafi where he is narrated to have prohibited the meat of the People of the Book.

It is a matter of disagreement among the imams (as).

We would suggest the safest route and not eat the meat of the Jews and Christians. Allah says in the Qur'an: {Forbidden to you are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it}(Q. 5:3). This last clause mentioned in the verse indicates that the Muslims should be able to slaughter the animal. Imam Ahmed bin Suleiman (as) used this as a proof in his book Usuul al-Ahkaam. Also, he went on to say:

"The Exalted also says: {Eat not of (meats) on which Allah's name hath not been pronounced...}(Q. 6:121) and {Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah...}. The Jews and Christians invoke other than the Name of Allah or doesn't mention Allah's Name at all. This is because the Jews mention the Name of the Lord that has not been sent to Allah's Messenger, peace and blessings be upon him and his progeny, or that has not been revealed in the Qur'an. So, it is as though they mention a Name other than Allah. The Christians mention a Name of a Lord consisting of three persons."

As for the verse {The food of the People of the Book is lawful unto you and yours is lawful unto them} (Q. 5:5), our imams say that 1.) the word in the verse is "food" and not meat, and 2.) the "People of the Book" referred to in the verse refers to those Muslims who were formally Jews and Christians. As Allah says: {Of the People of the Book are a portion that stand and recite the verses of Allah all night long and prostrate} (Q. 3:113). This no doubt refers to Muslims although they were "of the People of the Book."

And Allah knows best!

IRS

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.304 seconds
Powered by Kunena Forum